Looking Over My Shoulder

Next week, 3 months will have passed since my shoulder surgery. I think it’s time to reflect back. It is amazing to me that it has been 3 months. Time has absolutely flown by. It seems like just yesterday I had to hold on to the bannister walking down the stairs because I took too many Vicodin for the excruciating post-op pain causing my legs to wobble and my balance to suffer.

I vividly remember making a joke that I was going to burn my sling when I was finally allowed to take it off. Then, after a day of not wearing it, I had to put the sling back on from the pain of everything hanging unsupported. The sling is still hanging up in my bathroom. I can probably pack it away and forget where I put it at this point.

I have been doing various exercises at home at least 3 times per day every day since Thanksgiving. Initially, they were tortuous. Now, I wonder why I do some of them since they don’t feel like anything. I still go to physical therapy. When I started, I could barely move my arm out of the position the sling left it. Now, I have almost all of my range of motion back. I lift light weights 3 times per week, and my 30 minute physical therapy appointment lasts 90 minutes since I do so many exercises. The therapist tells me I’m ahead of schedule compared to most patients.

16 inches of snow and a bad shoulder... no problem?

16 inches of snow and a bad shoulder… no problem?

The thought of raising my arm over my head seemed impossible initially. Now, I’m back to being useful. I put together a dresser for my expected daughter. My wife and I are picking paint colors for her room. Painting the room and putting together the crib are next. I’ve also shoveled so much snow that I lost track. I think we are up to about 40 inches of snow for this winter, and I’ve had drifts over a foot tall to shovel through.

I couldn’t wait to run after surgery. After 8 weeks, I was cleared, and I’ve run every day since. My run streak is now over a month, and I’ve run in horrendous conditions like this morning when it was -2 and some of the sidewalks still had 6 inches of snow covering them. I sometimes feel like I’m reenacting training scenes from Rocky IV.

-2 degrees apparently freezes eyelashes

-2 degrees apparently freezes eyelashes

Looking back, I’ve come a long way. I’m still not cleared from physical therapy, but I’m close. My surgeon told me this week that I don’t need to see him anymore unless I have a setback. Once the physical therapist is satisfied, I’ll be on my own finishing rehab at home and the gym. I’m not ready to play golf yet or throw a baseball. The surgeon said to wait as long as possible for that, so I think I’ll sit out this golf season just to be sure. I suppose that means obstacle races are out as well unfortunately. However, I’m very pleased with where I am. This experience has taught me a lot about myself. I think I’m ready to move on.

86 Days until the Flying Pig Half Marathon starts. Come join me.

For all of my posts related to this surgery, select the drop down “Post Categories” list at the bottom of this page and select “Surgery”. You will be able to read all of my surgery related posts.

Leave a Reply

